Purba Bardhaman District came out into existence on 07.04.2017 after bifurcation of erstwhile Burdwan District. Purba Bardhaman District has an area of 5432.69 sq. km. and a population of 4835532 as per the population census of 2011, covering 18 police station areas and a single women police station. It is bounded on the North by Birbhum and Murshidabad Districts. On the east, by Nadia District; on the South east by Hooghly District. On the south west, by Bankura and Paschim Bardhaman District.  The district comprises areas of four full sub divisions Sadar North, Sadar South, Katwa, Kalna. Two full Parliamentary constituencies; 38 Purba Bardhaman and 39 Purba Bardhaman - Durgapur and parts of two; 37 Bishnupur and 41 Bolpur fall within this District. There are 16 full assembly constituencies and a part of one constituency falls within this police district. Six Municipalities like - Purba Bardhaman, Memari, Kalna, Katwa, Dainhat and Guskara are under the jurisdiction of this In Purba Bardhaman District. The Burdwan Medical College and Hospital caters to this district along with the Kalna and Katwa Sub Divisional Hospitals. Vital places like the Burdwan University, the proposed thermal power station at Katwa, and Saktigarh Misti Hub are all under this district; attractive tourist places Temple city Kalna, forest Sanctuary @ Valkimachan, Historic place like Pandu-Rajar Dhibi, Bird Sanctuaries @ Chupi - Purbasthlai & Belun – Ketugram, Bardhaman Curzon Gate, 108 Shib Mandir, Sarbamangala Temple etc. This District is primarily an agrarian district with more than 100 Cold storage and 450 Rice mills. Rivers like Damodar, Bhagirathi, Ajoy, Khari & Gangur flowing through this district along with patches of forest tracts under Ausgram P.S. NH2 and NH2B passes through this district. Indian Railway lines like Eastern Railway Main and Chord with a separate Katwa Line is also present in this District.